Omaha Legal Professionals Association's January General Membership Meeting

January 17, 2018
5:30 Social
6:00 Dinner
6:30 Speaker
7:00 Meeting

Cost:   $14 per psrson
This educational dinner includes:
Beef Vegetable or Chicken Noodle Soup
Grilled Beef & Cheese or Grilled Turkey & Cheese Sandwich
Coffee or Tea 
Tax & Tip

Regency Lodge – Alpine Room
909 South 107th Avenue
(I-80 & Pacific)


Mallory Hughes

Dornan, Troia, Howard, Breitkreutz & Conway PC, LLO 

“Discovery in Criminal Law”

Please RSVP by noon Monday January 15, 2018 by clicking here
by email at
by phone at

Mallory began practicing law in Colorado after she graduated from the University of Denver Sturm College of Law in 2010. Mallory moved to Omaha in June of 2011, and obtained her license to practice in Nebraska State and Federal Court. Mallory continues to maintain her license to practice law in Colorado state courts. Mallory is currently listed in Nebraska’s Top 40 under 40 right now. Mallory practices in the areas of criminal defense, appeals, family law including custody and divorce matters, and civil litigation. Mallory also has extensive experience in juvenile court representing both parents in matters involving neglect or abuse, and minors in matters involving truancy, disobedience, or a violation of city ordinances or Nebraska statutes.


·         State v Watson, CR17-771, Douglas County District Court 2017

·         State v. Benton, CR16-1169, Douglas County District Court 2016

·         Leeds v. Navarro, CI16-6409, Douglas County County Court 2016

·         State v. Nolan, CR16-3830, Douglas County District Court 2016

·         State v. Solochek, CR13-358, Douglas County District Court 2013 

·         State v. Cook, CR13-2022, Douglas County District Court 2013


  • Colorado State Court, 2010
  • Nebraska State Court, 2011
  • Nebraska Federal Court, 2011


  • Omaha Bar Association 2011-Present
    • Young Lawyers Division Outreach/Communications Committee Member 2013-2014
    • Omaha Bar Association- Newsletter Committee Member 2013-2014


  • Criminal Defense
  • Appeals
  • Family Law (juvenile law, custody matters and divorce)
  • Civil Litigation

    If you would like more information about OLPA, please contact our President. 

Lynda Henningsen, President of Omaha Legal Professionals Association,
can be reached at (402 )345-1303 (work), (402 )981-4321 (cell).

Cancellation Policy -   

Cancellations can be made online up to two days before the RSVP deadline. Cancellations can be made by email up to the RSVP deadline by sending an email to Sierra Bustos at Should you make a reservation and not cancel prior to the RSVP deadline, per OLPA policy, you must pay for the cost of the meal.  

Online Meeting Registrations - 

Reservations for our meetings can be made online. Unfortunately, at this time, we are unable to take payments electronically. You will receive an email confirming we received your reservation; however, it will say that your registration is "pending" due to the fact that we cannot complete your registration completely by accepting an online payment. Please consider this confirmation of your RSVP and be prepared to pay for the meeting at the door by cash or check. Thank you all for your patience and understanding.    

Upcoming events

 ********** Call for Nominations  **********

2017/2018 Legal Professional of the Year 

Nominations are due to our current Legal Professional of the Year Laura Cejka no later than February 15, 2018. You can nominate a deserving OLPA member who meets the criteria to Laura in person, via email, fax or mail to the following:

Laura Cejka, Legal Assistant 
OLPA Legal Professional of the Year Chair
Lamson, Dugan & Murray, LLP
10306 Regency Parkway Drive 
Omaha, NE  68114
(402) 397-7300 ext. 226 
(402) 397-7824 fax

OLPA's annual Legal Professional of the Year Award is given to a member in good standing in the association, recognizing her or his professional achievements, association activities, continuing legal education, experience in the legal field (at least three years), community serviced, civic, charitable activities and affiliations, and membership outside of OLPA. A member is nominated by another OLPA member and may win this award only one time, so it is especially prestigious and celebrated. 

If you have an OLPA member in mind who handles herself or himself with composure, integrity, has the professional skills to provide services in the legal field in a productive and positive way, and you believe the association should recognize and honor her or him, please submit your nomination(s) on or before February 15th of this year! 

The winner of the OLPA Legal Professional of the Year accolade will automatically be nominated for the Nebraska Professional Association's Legal Professional of Year award as well. The Nebraska Legal Professional of the Year will be announced at our annual convention in April. 

2017/2018 Boss of the Year

Nominations are currently being accepted by our Boss of the Year Chair Valentina Saavedra until March 16, 2018.
inate your boss by sending a one-page letter of nomination in support of your nominee to the chair. 

Valentina Saavedra, Director of Marketing 
Boss of the Year Chair
Paralegal Power Co. 
 1904 Farnam Street, Ste. 615
Omaha, NE 68102
(531) 600-9017

“Boss” may be defined in various ways.  In our profession, for example, “n  1: one who exercises control or authority; specif : one who directs or supervises workers.”

A “boss of the year” may be characterized as someone who interacts well with and positively influences colleagues and support staff.  He or she is a leader, encourages teamwork, is easy to get along with, strives for excellence, and offers constructive suggestions or criticism when required.

If your boss has these attributes and you would like the Association to recognize and honor him or her, please nominate your boss before March 16th this year!  OLPA’s annual Boss of the Year Award is given to an individual who exemplifies the qualities of a great leader and is nominated by an OLPA member.

Please submit your nominations to me as Chairperson of this Committee.  To qualify, your submission should be postmarked, faxed or emailed no later than Friday, March 16, 2018. The nominations will be judged by a panel of three judges.  The winner will be presented with a plaque at the annual OLPA awards banquet on Wednesday, April 18, 2018.

The following rules shall apply:

1.         Every member in good standing of OLPA is eligible to submit a nomination.  All nominations must be typed and should not exceed one letter-sized sheet of paper.

2.         The nominee’s name should not appear in the body of the nomination letter.  A separate cover letter is to be enclosed in which the names of the member and his/her boss are disclosed.

3.         Letters of nomination should not include the boss’s civic, educational, religious, fraternal or bar association activities.

4.         Letters of nomination must be postmarked or emailed no later than March 16, 2018 to Valentina Saavedra Boss of the Year Chair.  Letters postmarked or presented after the deadline will be disqualified.

Check out our Ways & Means page by clicking the link below for information regarding our Fundraiser. All proceeds will go toward funding our two Scholarships offered.

Ways & Means

Thank you for your support!


TO establish good fellowship among the members of this association and all persons employed in and/or interested in work of a legal nature so that ideas may be exchanged and knowledge increased.

TO establish a high order of business and professional attainment and to further our knowledge of the law and uphold its honor and dignity.

TO create a high standard of ethics among its members.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software